• My Life with Photography and iPC

I have been a semi-professional photographer for about 2 years now. I work for PointandShoot.Asia (run by dbgg1979) as a second shooter. I also shoot for JaskiCars.com, and I work as an Event Photographer for DLV Studios when I'm not busy debugging and developing websites. I have always been a fan of the art, but I never immersed myself into it until I started working for DLV Studios. I was hired initially to develop websites and function as the tech support for the company. It made sense, since I am after all, a Computer Science graduate.

It wasn't until later when I was asked to update our website with new footage from a wedding when I noticed the beauty and the symmetry of the photos. From that point in time, whenever I was asked to add new content, I always upload everything but I take time to study the pictures.

A little later, I decided I wanted to take pictures instead of just admiring them.

The Beginning
      My Dad bought himself a Nikon D90 DSLR in Manila and this was the time I decided to learn about photography with his camera.

One of our bosses decided to come home to the Philippines to attend to family matters. I took this as an opportunity to buy my first DSLR. My first mistake was I didn't ask anyone with experience in photography on what to buy. I just looked at BHPhotoVideo.com (because that's where the company buys equipment) and tried to find something that I could afford. I went with the Canon System because the company uses Canon.

At the time, all I could care about was getting my hands on a DSLR. I didn't know or care about what features would matter to me. I decided to get the Canon EOS T1i (a.k.a 500D). I got it for around $800. It was a kit package that came with two lenses, the Canon EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 Kit lens and the Canon EF-S 55-250 f/3.5-5.6 Telephoto.