Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Who are embedded systems enthusiasts here?????

May I know who are embedded systems enthusiasts here?? Especially in developing embedded systems for Linux OS..... Pls post your ideas and experiences here.....

Default Re: Who are embedded systems enthusiasts here?????

am not an enthusiast, but my project is embedded linux, currently working on uClinux.
    developing embedded application is just easy, you just need a cross compiler toolchain.
    at times its so frustrating coz your program may run fine on your desktop but once you cross compile
    it and run it in your embedded device the output is not the same. beware of memory leak, this make your system crawl.

Yeah, you're right. We have the same experience when I currently developed embedded linux here. Im just a newbie to this job with so much issues to be consider when developing programs for this kind of system. Have you already developed User Interface for you embedded systems? That's what Im currently working on....

yup, the embedded system has a nvidia gpu it support opengl 1.1, so the user interface is purely opengl (texturing/vertex/blending/3d models using 3ds). takes time and a lot of patience.
    what linux are you using? used monta vista linux, now, currently customizing ucLinux for the new board, unfortunately no gpu is present so will have to do low level memory access for the display.

IC.... That's what I am working on..... We're using uCLinux also..... We're currenly working on Gtk. That's what I am working here on how to cross compile Gtk applications. The target board has no gpu also. But we are working on the Framebuffer which has already a ported X server. So Is opengl really requires gpu?

yup, it requires a gpu. where are you working ryt now?. what's your target board?

Quote Originally Posted by StyM
    yup, it requires a gpu. where are you working ryt now?. what's your target board?