Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default ,,,,,heroic love and love...

These days, I always seem to be guilty of saying a bold statement so why not add another one into the mix.

Heroic love is soooo overrated today.

Notice that I did not say just love, I zeroed in on a specific aspect of it, which is heroic love. Heroic love is so scarce in our society today that you often just see glimpses of it and sometimes often even mistake it as the real thing. And that has been missing in our lives as I speak. Though I admit, I am not an expert on the matter, I just write what I know and what I see as well as understand. And I am hoping through this, I have helped in a way to clear some muddled up notions especially for my generation.

A clear example is our films; you watch how the characters sacrifice everything in order to be with the one that they love, that is not heroic love, that is maybe love at some level but it does not come up to par to the real meaning of what heroic love is. Why? Because heroic love is HARD.

When I say it is hard, its hard in a sense where YOU are with the one you love EVERYDAY and yet YOU DIE EVERYDAY. I am not talking about those one sided relationships that you read or watch or hear about. I am talking about real love wherein both parties fully love each other and are with each other and yet one of them is being crushed every passing moment. And with that comes real sacrifice.

Sacrifice in a sense where you forget yourself and just be with the one that you love. We as human beings initially think that when you give up a part of your life that was important to you in order to make your loved one happy is somewhat of an unrealistic notion, okay let me amend that.a SELFISH notion because YOU THINK of it. Not feel it. Plus, never once, after doing it you will want to slap it in your partners face that you sacrificed everything just to be with her. That is pure heroic love?