Page 1 of 37 123411 ... LastLast

Default Merged: Horror Movies (Old and New)

Okay, this is a movie recommendation thread. Kindly state your favorite new horror movie (within the last twenty-five years) and your favorite old horror movie (from the beginning of cinema to 1987). Just select one film for each category.

Here are mine:

Old: Curse of the Demon (1957) - IMDb

New: Session 9 (2001) - IMDb

Last edited by reptoid; 06-02-2012 at 02:53 PM.

Default re: Merged: Horror Movies (Old and New)

Come guys.... let's see your horror recommendations!

Nice thread, TS! I'm a newbie here, btw. Hope u don't mind nga ni apil ko ani na thread. :) hehehe

So, for horror movies from the beginning of film to 1987. Here are my picks:
    1. Nosferatu (1922)
    2. The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (forgot the year...basta mga 1920s to)
    3. The Shining (1980) - check out the scenes with the kid riding his mini car around the hotel
    4. Rosemary's Baby (1968)
    5. Night of the Living Dead (1968) - This has got to be the grandfather of all modern zombie films (George A. Romero!)
    6. The Birds (1963) - my favorite!
    7. Psycho (1960)
    8. Carrie (i forgot the year) - classic cautionary tale of a deadly "payback"
    9. The Thing (1978) - scary alien s**t!
    10. The Exorcist (1973) - Kinsa'y d mahadlok sa nawng ni (possessed) Regan???

***Sorry, I realized that we were supposed to post just one movie. But the geek in me just had to put 10 in the list... :)

For 1987 to present:

1. The Orphanage
    2. The Others (better than the 6th sense, i think)
    3. The Grudge (i slept with the light on for a week)
    4. REC (2007) - what do u get with low-lit docu style filming + flesh-eating neighbors = a perfect screamfest
    5. Funny Games (seriously twisted stuff...the horror is as real as it gets. I don't *ever* want to watch this film again)
    6. SAW (2004...nindot og concept)
    7. Dracula (by FF Copolla) - nice re-boot of the "done-to-death" vampire story