• Miss Cebu 2016 Coronation Night

      Miss Cebu 2016 Coronation Night this Wednesday, January 13

      Cebu is the heart of the Philippine archipelago. Here, the heart sings! This recently launched new Cebu brand was distilled from the innate joyful character of Cebuanos which many find alluring and welcoming. To this day, Cebu has retained its charms as a hospitable destination with a rich history as a port of call for traders. It is no small wonder that Cebuanos are known for their entrepreneurial drive, can do attitude, accommodating nature and an easygoing lifestyle that oftentimes find expression in song and dance.

      Every year, this explodes in an amazing display of devotion to the Senor Sto. Nino (the Child Jesus), who is the heart and center of the Sinulog Festival. It is where Cebuanos find the perfect reason to celebrate with great pomp and pageantry, passions driven to a frenetic high by rhythmic drumbeats and strains of festival music.

      With the annual Sinulog festival comes the Miss Cebu pageant. Now on its 32nd year, all eyes will be on the 12 finalists vying for the prestigious title. The coronation night is set this Wednesday, January 13, 2016, 6:30 p.m at the Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino and telecast live over ABS-CBN’s Sports + Action Channel 23.


      The Miss Cebu 2016 Pageant happily takes inspiration from the new Cebu brand and the show segments are laced together on an upbeat and happy note. “It will be a sensory experience of old, new and now and everything that Cebu is known and loved for—from its heritage, historical spots, culture, stunning highland vistas, beaches, fashion, modern day creative industries to the main highlight of the night, its people- the heart, beauty and character of Cebu embodied in the 12 Miss Cebu 2016 finalists.” shares Cebu City Tourism Commissioner and Miss Cebu 2016 Project Chairperson Georgia “Jaja” Chiongbian Rama.

      The 2016 Miss Cebu shall wear the crown with great responsibility as the face and the voice of Cebu tourism during her one year reign. She must, therefore, be the epitome of the Cebu brand.


      Hosted by actor and model Clint Bondan Wachsmuth and Miss Earth 2008 Karla Henry along with segment housts and other Miss Cebu alumni, Miss Cebu 2009 and Miss Intercontinental 2014 2nd runner up Kris Tiffany Janson and Miss Cebu 2010 Mia Ali Faridoon, Miss Cebu 2014 Diane Muego the finalists will be wearing the creations of Cebu’s top designers with maquillage by the Make Up Artists Club of Cebu. The opening production number will feature the Hablon, a local indigenous fabric from Argao being revived and applied to modern design by designers Rey Villegas, Hadji Godinez, Peewee Senining and Roni Yu. The mid-production number will feature the Barong in innovative designs by Cebu's cutting edge designers Brian Aloquin, Yvonne Quisumbing, Valerie Alvez and Edwin Ao while the evening gown segment will feature creations in sepia tones from Cebu's celebrated designers Ditas Rodriguez, Marichu Tan, Albert Arriba, Ren Manabat, Philipp Tampus, Wendell Quisido, Arcy Gayatin, Oj Hofer, Dino Lloren, Jun Escario, Harley Ruedas and William Manahan. The hosts, reigning Miss Cebu and her court and past winners will be donning the creations of Protacio, Philip Rodriguez and Cary Santiago.


      This year’s featured entertainers are the Knapsack Dancers, Freestylers, Disco Jammers, UC Dance Company, Danielle Mae Ozaraga, Awit Awardees’ Tria Bascon and The Voice finalist’s Etore “Thor” Dulay. Stunning moving visuals were shot by event video production outfit Digital Minds at waterfalls found in the city’s mountain barangays and the videos will also take you on a ride on horses from Big Q’s Mountain Horseback Riding Adventure and a drive through the city’s highlands featuring vehicles from the Performance and Car Enthusiasts (PACE). The Motion Picture Society of Cebu shot at cultural and heritage sites and ancestral homes around Cebu while photos from Lucy Urgello Miller's book “Glimpses of Old Cebu” will be part of the highlights. The show will be directed by Junjet Primor.

      12 FINALISTS

      The 12 beauties vying for the prestigious title this year are





      5 FELINA JOYCE “Pine” LIM


      7 ANNA MARIE “Anna” SALDON




      11 VIDA DORIZA “Vida” REYA

      12 MERL “Merl” GAYO

      The Coronation Night will be held on Wednesday, January 13, 2016, 6:30 PM at the Pacific Grand Ballroom of the Waterfront Cebu Hotel and Casino and will be aired live over ABS CBN Sports + Action Channel 23. Tickets to the Coronation Night are now available at P500, P1,000, and P1,500 at the online voting booths in Ayala Center Cebu (3rd floor new expansion wing near Asian Home) and SM City Cebu cinema lobby (near Trade Hall), Waterfront Cebu City Hotel and Casino and the Cebu City Tourism Office at the 2nd floor of the Rizal Museum and Public Library in Osmeña Boulevard.

      Miss Cebu 2016 is presented to you by The Cebu City Government through the Cebu City Tourism Commission and Cebu City Tourism Foundation Incorporated. It is co-presented by ABS-CBN Corporation, Ayala Center Cebu and Cebu Holdings, Inc. Philippine Bisayan Society of Nevada Inc., and Waterfront Cebu City Hotel and Casino. Diamond sponsors are Cebu Castle Peak, EPSON Philippines Corp. Gems & Designs, Ngenius IT Hub NK Service Center, & SM City Cebu.

      For more information, please contact the Cebu City Tourism Commission office at (032) 412 4355 or visit www.facebook.com/misscebupageant and view photos at #misscebu2016. For more information on the Cebu City Tourism Commission, visit www.cebucitytourism.com.
      You may like...

      Facebook Comments

    about us
    We are the first Cebu Online Media.

    iSTORYA.NET is Cebu's Biggest, Southern Philippines' Most Active, and the Philippines' Strongest Online Community!
    follow us